Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Writing Wednesday 23: Interview With a Character

Leave a comment

This week’s Writing Wednesday video finds me trying a writing technique I’ve always considered a little bit “gimmicky” — that is, “interviewing” a character to help me better understand her motivation and/or to move past a spot where I’m blocked in my writing.

I found this fun to do but not really terribly useful. I didn’t feel that I understood anything new about Lily than I did before, and that I probably would have learned more if I’d spent the same time adding a new scene or editing an old one. But the acting part was fun! I think I probably shouldn’t quit my day job …

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 104 other followers