Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Searching Sabbath 20: The Sabbath

6 Comments


This week’s topic is another huge one: why Seventh-day Adventists worship on Saturday rather than on Sunday like the majority of Christians, and what that means to me personally. Again, this is another really huge topic with many possible directions to go, some of which I’ll be happy to pursue in comments if people would like to. All I’ve tried to do in this video is present my understanding of the Sabbath teaching, which is probably one of the strongest things that makes me identify as a Seventh-day Adventist — Sabbath is very important to my faith and how I understand the world. Despite this, I’ve tried to keep it brief.

The official SDA statement of belief on the Sabbath is as follows:

The beneficent Creator, after the six days of Creation, rested on the seventh day and instituted the Sabbath for all people as a memorial of Creation. The fourth commandment of God’s unchangeable law requires the observance of this seventh-day Sabbath as the day of rest, worship, and ministry in harmony with the teaching and practice of Jesus, the Lord of the Sabbath. The Sabbath is a day of delightful communion with God and one another. It is a symbol of our redemption in Christ, a sign of our sanctification, a token of our allegiance, and a foretaste of our eternal future in God’s kingdom. The Sabbath is God’s perpetual sign of His eternal covenant between Him and His people. Joyful observance of this holy time from evening to evening, sunset to sunset, is a celebration of God’s creative and redemptive acts.

6 thoughts on “Searching Sabbath 20: The Sabbath

  1. I appreciate your comments. I especially like the idea of taking a day off as a consumer. We are more valuable than our labours. We are more valuable than our role as consumers. One does not often get that message in this society. Thanks so much, Trudy.

    • Thanks Claudia. That struck me one time when I was reading about the annual “Buy Nothing Day” promoted by some groups and I thought, “Hey, I observe Buy Nothing Day once a week!”

  2. Thanks for this Trudy. The REQUIREMENT for Christians to keep the Sabbath is not something I agree with (nor do I agree that we are REQUIRED to meet on the first day of the week either, although typically our groups do), however I can see the benefit of a God focused day of rest. Too often we find that our church day is not actually restful at all (involving travel, preparation of shared meals and the stress that can come with interacting with large groups) and that we often also pack in other, non-God focused activities. Your thoughts have me thinking and I can conceive that a true day of rest might be very beneficial for us. Thank you miss ;)

    • Aaron, I have to apologize, for some reason my spam filter put your comment in spam and it took me awhile to find it. From time to time I check my spam filter and find that one genuine comment has been tossed in among (in this case) 62 spam comments. So that’s why it didn’t appear right away.

      Good point that for many churchgoing Christians (especially those involved in ministry of some kind) the day of “rest” can often be the least restful day of the week. I know I sometimes felt this way when my kids were small getting ready to go to church on Sabbath morning — as a friend of mine used to say, “Hurry up! We are going to go to church and worship Jesus now, dammit!!!” Definitely need to strive for a way to strike a better balance.

  3. As I have gotten older I have become more emphatic about the phrase “the stranger in your gates”. Everyone deserves holy leisure and the brain space it creates. It is during this time that God has an oppurtunity to reveal himself to someone who is a “stranger” to God’s ways.

    • That is an interesting way to look at it. I don’t think I’m very good at sharing the blessings of Sabbath with non-Sabbath-keepers when I happen to be with them on Sabbath.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 105 other followers