Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Off to Eastport Tomorrow

Leave a comment

Tomorrow I will be getting on the road for one of my favourite annual events — the Writers’ Guild retreat at Eastport.  Every year I go to this retreat the weekend after school ends. For me it marks the transition to summer (regardless of the weather), an opportunity to reflect on the school year gone by and take stock of where I am in my life now, and of course a chance to do some concentrated writing without the distractions of everyday life.

This year is even better than usual because I am going with my friends the Strident Women (five out of six of them anyway), two of whom will be attending the retreat for the first time.  We are all riding out together (Strident Road Trip!) and sharing a house which, we are informed, has two lovely decks and is close to Eastport Beach, one of the most beautiful beaches in Newfoundland. 

There is absolutely nothing in the weather forecast to suggest that we will get to take advantage of either the decks or the beach.  But even if it rains all weekend I know I’ll have a good time.  Mix good friends, writing, and the opportunity to sleep late, and it’s a sure formula for a great weekend.  If we get a couple of hours of sunshine that’ll just be the icing on the cake.

Just in case you’re short of blog reading while I’m away, please check out Compulsive Overreader where I have just posted a few new book reviews.

Leave a Reply

