Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Partay Partay…

3 Comments

As of this morning it looked my water-themed birthday party was going to be water-themed in the worst possible sense, as the forecast called for rain all day. This morning the rain hadn’t started, but the skies were overcast and it was cool, breezy, and generally not looking like a great day for a backyard barbecue. Having invited throngs of people — well, pretty much everyone I know — I was committed at this point and we went ahead with plans to squeeze everyone, including lots of lively children, into our house.

However, God and the sun smiled on me. We had invited people to come anytime between 4 and 8 p.m., and people were starting to arrive by 4:30. By 5:00 the rain had stopped and the sun was peeking through the clouds, and it turned into a genuinely nice evening. The kids played outside a lot, and many of the grownups enjoyed some time sitting and chatting out on the back deck, and Jason was able to grill burgers without getting soaked. What more can you ask of a barbecue?

I could ask one more thing, which was some donations for my pet birthday project, BioSand Water Filters through Samaritan’s Purse. My generous and lovely friends and family donated $185, nearly enough to buy two filters. I will be matching that with some money of my own and sending it off to Samaritan’s Purse. Admittedly, throwing the party probably cost as much as people donated, so I could have achieved the same ends by NOT throwing a party and donating the money … but that wouldn’t have been nearly as much fun. And at 42 I can assure you that the closest I can come to discovering the Ultimate Answer is knowing that if you have the chance to combine doing some good with having some fun, you should grab it while you can!

A zillion thanks to my friends and family who helped make the party fun and the project successful — and special thanks to the Strident Women for the unforgettable presents, especially the guilt-free David Suzuki T-shirt.

Having a clean water fundraiser in lieu of birthday presents really makes me sound like an incredibily Deep and Thoughtful person, so just to counteract that entirely false image, I’ll end on a note that reveals my true inner shallows. I would like only one more thing to make my birthday complete, and no, it’s not world peace. I want Hugh Laurie to win the Best Actor Emmy tonight … and if that happens I will be an even happier girl than I am now.

But even if he doesn’t, it’s still been a pretty good birthday.

3 thoughts on “Partay Partay…

  1. Oh well. Didn’t get my last birthday wish. I guess my single-minded obsession with Hugh winning awards may have something to do with the fact that I watch virtually NOTHING on TV except House, so I don’t really have a sense of the competition. I honestly don’t even know who James Spader is or what show he’s on so how could he beat my boy Hugh? Alas.

    On the bright side, apparently Ricky Gervais won best comedy actor for Extras, so there is justice in this world.

  2. Who is Ricky Gervais??? Okay now I’m feeling out of touch.

    (Thanks for the cake!) 🙂

  3. Did you ever see the British “The Office”? He was the writer and star of that … “Extras” is his new show. Both shows are absolutely hilarious.

Leave a Reply

