Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Triumph and Tragedy

9 Comments

That’d be Jason’s triumph; my tragedy. And here it is for all the world to see:

Yes, that’s the board from our Saturday-night Scrabble game. He was already well in the lead when he made CYCLONE on a triple-word score, earning the 50-point bonus for using all his letters (for a total of 91 points), then followed that up by adding an S-word on the end on the OTHER triple word square, netting another 45 points.

It was all over for me at that point. In case you can’t see it circled with arrows pointing to it on the score sheet, his final score was 426. Mine was … not.

I keep cherishing the illusion that all the online Scrabble I’m playing is making me a better player … and I think it is … but I will know I have triumphed when I can finally defeat the man I married. Can you imagine the ongoing humiliation of the English teacher/writer who is consistently unable to beat her engineer husband at a WORD GAME???

But, isn’t the Deluxe Scrabble board pretty??? It almost makes up for my shame….

9 thoughts on “Triumph and Tragedy

  1. I think it’s cool that someone used the word “Haver”…

    Ever since I found out what that word means, I’ve had an affinity for it…

  2. I don’t even know if it’s an acceptable Scrabble word, actually. It’s one of two words on the board that I allowed Jason to use without challenging him even though I wasn’t sure … boy, did I regret my generosity later! (Though I checked them out on Facebook Scrabble after I started typing this and it did accept both of them. So “haver” is OK I guess).

  3. For some reason I think of the Proclaimers when I hear the word “haver.”

  4. The only place I’ve ever heard “haver” is in the Proclaimers song “500 Miles.”

  5. Me too…but when I found out what it meant, I discovered it’s something I do all the time…

  6. No need to haver over the legitimacy of this word — my copy of The Official Scrabble Players Dictionary, third edition lists it as a verb, meaning “to hem and haw.”

  7. Trudy… you need to try “Super Scrabble”! There are spaces where your word is 4 times… it makes for VERY high scores! And more room for bingos!

    But Scott won’t play with me very often. I think he’s tired of beating me all the time. 🙂

  8. Is it true that Hasbro is upset over facebook using Scrabble on their site? Anyone else hear that rumor?

  9. Also…that IS the prettiest scrabble board I have ever seen! Your man must love you a lot to give you such a thoughtful gift! 🙂

Leave a Reply

