Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Back to Basics

1 Comment

Yesterday, April 13, was an auspicious anniversary for me. It was April 13 last year when I went downstairs to get the laundry in the morning, bent over to pick up the basket off the floor, and was instantly assaulted by the most excruciating back pain I had ever imagined. In fact, I’d never imagined pain could be as bad as this — labour was a walk in the park by comparison.

As I lay on the laundry room floor screaming for help, I was convinced (insofar as I was capable of conscious thought) that this was going to be the beginning of a mid-life crisis of back pain, that now that I had “thrown my back out” it would never be right again and I would be permanently semi-crippled, or at least subject to recurring bouts of “bad back” which would curtail my freedom and enjoyment of life.

Never let it me said that I don’t go straight for the drama.

As it turned out, I had pulled a muscle in my lower back, and while the pain was intense for a few days and serious for a few more, within a couple of weeks I was back (ha ha) to normal, and I have not had another bad bout of back pain, or anything close to it, for a year.

Odds are that this was a random, one-time event and that it might never bother me again. I do find that I’m more careful now, though, about how I move and what I do. I take any mild twinges of back pain quite seriously and try to get extra rest. I have taken up yoga and tried to be more conscientious about getting regular exercise, and even though I am still far less active than lots of women my age who are True Jocks, I really do think that trying to stay active, especially the flexibility that comes with doing even a little yoga, is partly responsible for the fact that I haven’t had any further trouble.

I also find myself, these days, with a lot more respect for people who have back troubles, because I’ve had a tiny glimpse of how bad it can be. Mostly, I’m just really, really grateful that in my case it went away and didn’t come back. I hope it never does.

One thought on “Back to Basics

  1. Oh Trudy,

    Back pain is an equalizer like no other, for sure. It keeps you watching, well, your back, for years to come…even after the actual pain subsides. I was in 3 car accidents in 2 weeks when I was 17…at least I was 17. Anyhow, it took me until my mid-20’s to relax about tense muscles and pulled tendons…there’s one good reason I’m in my mid-30’s now. 🙂 I hope you have many more anniversaries with no recurrence of back pain.

    ~Mary

Leave a Reply

