Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

A Bit of Fry and Laurie

11 Comments

I wanted to post this on my birthday, but we only just got the camera back.

Many years ago I used to know a young man who told very lame jokes, then when people didn’t laugh enough, he would say, “D’you get it? Get it? Know what I mean?”

I didn’t marry a man like that.  I married a man who makes ridiculous puns, then stands back secure in the assumption that you’re going to get them.  So on my birthday, as I gathered around the table with my husband and children and reached into the gift bag, Jason said: “I got you a bit of Fry and Laurie for your birthday.”

I thought, That’s odd, since we already have that on DVD.  Then I opened my gift bag.

Here’s what I got:

D’you get it? Get it?

Sure you do. Gotta love that man of mine. I know I do. 

By the way, I’ve finally and belatedly gotten some more book reviews posted at Compulsive Overreader. Go check ’em out!

11 thoughts on “A Bit of Fry and Laurie

  1. OK, I’m an idiot. I admit it. And I’ve never seen an episode of House, not even one.

    But … ummm, … No, I don’t get it. Can you explain, please, for the dunderheads among us (like me)?

  2. Hugh Laurie, who stars in House, used to be in a comedy series with Stephen Fry called “A Bit of Fry and Laurie.”

    Jason gave me House, Season 4, and a cast-iron frying pan, for my birthday. A bit of “fry” and “Laurie.”

    If you’re not a Hugh Laurie fan you wouldn’t get it. And that doesn’t make you an idiot, though it does mean there are entire realms of celebrity crushing open for you to explore should you ever choose to do so…

  3. Haha! That’s great! I loved A Bit of Fry and Laurie as well. Stephen Fry is a bit of a hero of mine.

  4. Got to love guys with a sense of smart humour. The first words my husband said to me, on meeting me in a student union pub with a mutual friend, went something like this:

    Friend: Hi! (turns to one of the other girls there) This is Diana….(turns to me)…and this is Diana…(turns to hubby)…and this is…

    Hubby: Call me Diana – it’ll avoid confusion!

    Of course, I immediately fell for his original wit and charm. Fortunately, by the time he played his Monty Python records for me, it was too late. And I still think he’s a smart and funny man, more than 25 years later. 🙂

  5. FLG – I think Stephen Fry and Hugh Laurie are both heroes of mine.

    Diana — I know what you mean about it being too late by the time he pulled out the Monty Python records! Jason still has the Holy Grail soundtrack on vinyl … and still has most of it memorized…

  6. What a lovely cast iron frying pan! It too gets better with age. 🙂

  7. It does indeed. We have three now — a tiny, really really old one Aunt Gertie gave us, and the two larger ones we bought ourselves. Some might say a frying pan is an unromantic birthday gift, but my husband knows what I like!

  8. PS Sherry, I’m pretty sure you remember the originator of “D’you get it? Get it? Know what I mean? Get it??”

  9. I got it! 🙂

  10. Love your husband’s sense of humor. Love Laurie – House is easily one of the best shows on TV….though I’m not sure I would want him experimenting on me! LOL

  11. Hee, great gift, and a good pun! That’s a keeper!

Leave a Reply

