Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

NaNoWriMo: Halfway Mark

5 Comments

bede3It’s November 15, I’ve finished writing for the night, and I am officially at the halfway point in November’s writing frenzy.  I’ve hit just over 31,000 words, which is more than halfway to the official NaNo goal of 50,000 words, but probably considerably less than halfway to my personal goal of a completed manuscript.

That’s the word count update. Plotwise, the Venerable Bede is nowhere near venerable yet, and is in fact so discouraged by his visit to the twenty-first century that, back in his own era, he’s about to drop out of the monastic life after confessing to sins of the flesh he didn’t actually commit — then he’s going out on the town to commit some. 

Meanwhile, our thoroughly modern heroine Sara has escaped a convent after a nasty exorcism, and is about to return to her own time and place (Gower St., St. John’s, 2007) to find it subtly but horribly changed. She’s going to realize that mucking about with the past — to the extent that the first great English historian never writes his great book — has more serious consequences than she had reckoned.  She’s watched City on the Edge of Forever, but she obviously didn’t take its message enough to heart.

While all this drama simmers for Bede and Sara, their dauntless author, Trudy, has just read a book so good that she wants to give up writing forever in despair of ever being one-tenth that good.  But even pirates must get discouraged sometimes (“Why should I plunder and pillage? I’ll never be another Blackbeard!”) … yet we sail bravely onwards.

5 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: Halfway Mark

  1. Yay! Go Trudy!! I’m procrastinating for some reason tonight. Doing everything but writing. I finished a great chapter on Thursday night where a new character appeared and thoroughly took over (much to my delight) and I haven’t had a chance to get back to it until tonight. If I miss too many days, somehow the momentum disappears. Think I will have to use my mighty will power (and a block of chocolate) to get me going. Internet be gone!!

  2. In one post, you talk about the Venerable Bede, City of the Edge of Forever, and time travelling from Gower Street…

    You have to finish this book. Put me on the wait list for first copies. So there.

    Bede…Durham…Lindisfarne…*sigh*

  3. Congratulations on getting this far. The time travel stuff sounds interesting 😀 Hope things continue to go well with the writing 🙂

  4. Karen, I know what you mean. Even a few hours off doing something else, and I lose the emotional energy behind a character or scene.

    Trudy, the book sounds more and more fun. Git er dun so I can read.

  5. I saw your facebook pic…the pirate hat appears to still be in place…wench…get to it!

Leave a Reply

