Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Coming Soon…

8 Comments

daughtersofgraceJust as a break from the NaNo novel that I’m still plugging away at with an increasing sense of futility (because at this point in the month, I’m always convinced that whatever I’m writing is no good and never will be any good), I’ll take a moment to do some shameless self-promotion for a book I’ve already written. 

Coming early in 2009 (sadly too late for Christmas, as it would make a lovely gift, but hey … buy early for next Christmas!) is Daughters of Grace, a collection of articles/essays I’ve written about women of the Bible and what we can learn from their stories.

It’s going to be a very very pretty book, as you can see from the cover, because it’s going to include some of the lovely Robert Hunt artwork that has accompanied the articles when they first appeared in Women of Spirit magazine.  I’m quite excited about the look of the book and can’t wait to hold it in my hands.  As for the content, if you want to get a sense of the type of pieces that are in it, you can see some examples of the articles here, here and here.

When I get my comp copies I will be doing some giveaways to bloggers who are willing to help me do a little promotion, so watch this space for more info on that.  In the meantime, I’ll keep staring at this picture, because there is nothing like looking at a pretty cover to give you back faith in your writing.

8 thoughts on “Coming Soon…

  1. That is so awesome. You even have your name on the cover! 😀 I hope it does really well for you.

  2. it looks hard cover! it’s beautiful! i always feel like i’m congratulating someone’s new baby when i congratulate on a new book.:) except authors are more critical of their covers… and we’re thinking about sales in the back of our minds… so not so much like a baby after all! ha! i think it looks great–they did an awesome job on it!

  3. The book looks elegant and sounds very interesting. I need to read it!

    Congratulations!

  4. How very, very exciting!!! It looks beautiful. Can’t wait to have a read. Keep on keeping on with your NaNo. I’m at that same point too. It just feels like I’m wading through the mud to get to the good stuff. But, I still believe in my story. Just gotta find a way to tell it!!

  5. Congratulations Trudy! How exciting!
    As Patty said, it must be like giving birth to a baby, as with any creative project, you put a lot of yourself into it and so you want other people to like it.
    I work as the buyer for a bookshop, so I’m on the other end of the process. I choose which books to stock in the bookshop, and covers are very important. They are what first attracts the customer and encourages them to pick up the book and look at it. It amazes me when a publisher’s rep shows me a book with great content but an awful cover. It doesn’t matter how good the book is, if the cover fails to get it into the customer’s hands, the book won’t sell. I like your cover. It would encourage me to stock the book, and it would attract customers to pick it up and look at it. It’s nice and clear and uncluttered, the title and author are clear and the picture is attractive. I hope the book does well for you.
    Do you know if it will be available here in the UK?
    I’ve just checked my supplier, and it’s not listed yet.

  6. It’s not actually released till January, Katie-Rose, but when it is I’ll find out whether it can be available in the UK.

  7. January isn’t very far away Trudy. Reps show me books 3 or 4 months ahead of publication, and new titles go onto the database early too. It wouldn’t be too early if it was a UK publication, but if it is going to be available in the UK, it might be out on a later date. I will look out for it!
    If you’re able to let me know, that would be great.

Leave a Reply

