Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Wrapping, 2008

4 Comments

DON’T FORGET THE CONTEST! You can win! In fact, if the number of entries I’ve received so far is any indication, you almost certainly WILL win if you enter!! Yes it’s open till Jan. 6, but don’t wait till the last minute.

On the sixth day of Christmas, my true love gave me to me six geese a-laying, and reflected that we’re  halfway through the Christmas season and halfway through vacation. And of course teetering on the brink of a new year. Looking thoughtful and pensive yet still festive … pensive/festive, as I think I do in this photo:

 trudychristmas

The answer to “How was your Christmas?” is: “Wonderful.”  For more detail, go look at our pics on Flickr, where you can see our family enjoying the season.

One of the things I’m very happy to be wrapping up as the year ends is our World Vision fundraising project.  Since back in the spring, our family has been raising and donating money, and encouraging others to donate, to help World Vision provide education for kids in developing countries.

We set the end of the year as our target date for raising just over $2000 towards four education-related projects.  It was a lot of fun to see the totals rise as we and some of our family and friends donated to the project.  Once I put a link here on the webpage, people I didn’t even know started getting onto our site and donating.  Besides contributing to the four projects we’d selected, we also had people donating money for other items from World Vision’s gift catalogue: hens, roosters, goats, medical supplies, food, etc.  It was quite exciting.

Although we got close to our dollar total,  I still wanted to see us reach our goal on each of the four projects we’d selected, and that looked a long way from happening by December 31.  Then, a couple of days ago, I went online to make a donation from our family and saw that we had not only exceeded our total fundraising goal, we had met the target for every category.  Someone had made a very generous donation to the category that was most in need: furnishing three complete classrooms.  With that goal, and our own final family donation for the year, we had raised a total of $3205.00, met or exceeded our target for every one of the four projects, and raised a whole lot more for World Vision in other categories.  It felt great to be part of such a successful group effort, and we’ll definitely do it again in the future!

So, as we wrap up this project and wrap up 2008, I’d like to say thanks to: Kim, Katrina, Daniel, Mom & Dad, Tina & Vince, Doris, Sandra, Norma, Carolyn, George, Anne, and especially my good friend Jamie whose super-generous year-end donation put us over the top.

This is as good a time as any to tell you that my very same good friend Jamie, whom some of you know IRL and some know from his witty comments here on my blog, has recently been diagnosed with cancer and could use your prayers, good vibes, whatever it is you like to send out there.  I know if there’s anything to this karma stuff, Jamie definitely deserves to kick cancer’s ass, not just for being so generous to World Vision but for being an all-round great guy.  I hate that things don’t always work out the way they should for great people. 

But that’s where we are as 2008 ends and 2009 dawns: some good stuff happens, some awful stuff happens, and we all hang in there loving and praying for each other and doing what we can to help.  Keep up the good work, everyone — and on the days you’re not up to good works, remember God’s keeping up the grace.

4 thoughts on “Wrapping, 2008

  1. Oh, good for you (and good for Jamie!). I’m really happy you made your goal.

    We’ll keep Jamie in our prayers.

  2. I think it’s more the tree looking festive, and the festive is getting on you pensive…kind of like a Reese peanut butter cup, if you get my drift.

  3. You and your family are in my prayers Jamie!

  4. Congratulations on a great family project.

    Prayers for you, Jamie.

Leave a Reply

