Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

I’m Getting Cold Feet

11 Comments

feetActually, I’m not getting them: I’ve always had them.  And I don’t mean I’m scared about anything (although with Christopher having three other ten-year-old boys over for a sleepover tonight to celebrate his looming eleventh birthday, maybe I should be!)  I mean that I have, quite literally, cold feet.

I can’t remember a time when I wasn’t obsessed, on some level, with getting my feet warm, and it’s only gotten worse as I get older.  My most vivid winter memories of childhood involve walking home from school through piles of snow and slush with damp, wet feet that never seemed to get completely warm or dry till mid-July.  I have slept with socks on for as long as I can remember.  I spend most of every winter thinking about my feet: how cold they are, and how to warm them up.

Lately we’ve been having a bit of a cold snap, i.e. a “colder-than-usual-for-St.-John’s-in-January” snap, where the temps have been getting down below -10 celsius with even lower windchills.  I’m cold all over most of the time, but my feet feel it the worst.  I know they say “cold hands, warm heart,” and I’m pretty sure I have both of those, but what pleasant personality trait accompanies cold feet? I don’t hear so much about that.

I’m always amazed by people with warm feet.  Two of my good friends — and I mean friends close enough that we have occasionally shared rooms and even beds on camping trips and vacations — horrified me when I was younger by insisting that they always sleep with the sheets untucked at the bottom of the bed so their (bare!!) feet could catch the breeze and “not get too hot.”  Feet … too hot? This concept simply doesn’t compute with me.

For a couple of weeks in July and August every year I wear sandals and enjoy the luxury of feet that are warm enough.  But even then I often find myself pulling on socks at bedtime, just in case.

This time of year, my best remedy is to take a really, really hot bath, then, as soon as I get out, encase my feet in large, warm, woolly socks.  This must be done quickly to trap the heat before it leaves the feet.  Then the feet must be either put in bed (with the rest of me of course) or covered in slippers to retain their warmth.  This is sometimes good for a couple of hours of comfort.

As I said, it’s getting worse with age, but I have high hopes for a turn-around.  I must be the only woman I know in her 40s who listens to older women’s stories of menopause with envy.  “Hot flashes? Really? Your whole body just — gets hot? All  over? EVEN YOUR FEET????”

All I have to say about that is, bring it on, baby.

11 thoughts on “I’m Getting Cold Feet

  1. I’ve been through menopause and the hot flashes warmed everything except my feet. The only thing that warms them is the dog and just when they start to feel comfy…she gets up and moves.

  2. I think I’m going to have to start training our dog. If he could only sit still long enough.

    I should tell everyone that my mom read this blog post and immediately dropped over with a pair of polar fleece socks, which I am wearing now.

  3. I wouldn’t say I have warm feet, but I cannot bear to sleep with socks. I like blankets that keep them warm enough, and yes, an opening somewhere in the sheets so I can stick them out if they get too hot…

  4. I have the same problem Trudy. Or at least I used to – until I moved waaaaay up north to the semi-tropics. Ah, the bliss. When I lived in Tasmania my feet were perpetually cold – and we didn’t have snow! I ended up being diagnosed with Reynaud’s Disease which is basically where the blood flow to the extremities is reduced as the capillaries constrict when it gets cold. Are you feet purple too? Or white (like dead person white)? That’s a good sign of Reynaud’s. You can take some supplment to help…but I can’t for life of me think what it was… And as a rather personal aside (any boys might want to cover their ears), when I was breastfeeding my twins last winter I developed the equivalent of Reynaud’s in the nipples – Nipple Vasospasms. OOOOOOUCH!!! is all I can say. Not pleasant. Not nice. But kind of entertaining…they change in colour from red to purple to white to red again. It was very painful and very freaky – and quite rare. Lucky me. Cold feet don’t sound too bad now do they??

  5. I’m a “feet outside the blankets” person, but find if they get wet while out shovelling, then I’m cold all over.

  6. Sherry, as you probably know, you are one of the original “feet outside the blankets” people I mentioned in the post. But I guess everyone gets cold feet sometimes.

    Karen, my feet don’t get white or purple so I’m pretty sure they’re not that far gone. And I have to tell you that my husband read your comment and said, “That’s a little too much information in Karen’s comment.” I said, “She put in a warning for guys!” He said: “She said to cover your ears — I covered my ears but I could still read it!!!”

  7. Haha!! Sorry Jason – I did try to give a clue as to what was coming…but yes, TMI probably for a lot of people – but potentially useful for you, Trudy!! I promise will restrict all future comments to feet 🙂

  8. Yah, I was going to say something cheeky about when my bum gets cold – but decided not to. 🙂

  9. It’s been really cold here in the UK lately, but nothing like it has been in Canada. I’ve had trouble getting my feet warm too, and if you have cold feet, you feel cold all over. My answer is microwavable bears. The ones filled with lavender perfumed wheat grains. You heat it in the microwave for a couple of minutes and it retains the heat for ages. If my feet are feeling like blocks of ice, I put a folded up towel on the floor with a hot bear on top of it, put my feet on the bear and then wrap a blanket round them. Oooh it’s bliss! Before long my feet are warm and alive again! I also use the bears to keep me warm in bed – one to cuddle and one for my feet. If you think it’s cruel to stuff a bear down the bottom of the bed and then put your feet on it, you can get the wheatgerm in rectagle shapes as well!

  10. I’m only 13 going on 14. But, ever since the beginning of say this year or late last year, my feet are always purple. I’ve tried socks *Wal-Mart doesn’t sell thick ones *Well the one I go to doesn’t.** but they never work. I take hot showers my feet turn red normally they do that because of the heat. After I dry off they turn purple again. It’s not circulation problems and I don’t know if Raynaud’s is; feet turn white when warmth is applied, then red, the purple/blue. But the stages of all of those is very quick, but says purple through out the rest of the day and night.
    My doctors have never heard of Raynaud’s which doesn’t make any sense for the fact their professional doctors. They also say I don’t have circulation problems. I’m very active, and skinny. And my family doesn’t have a trace of heart problems. Help needed.

  11. haha… So i’m only 17 (18 in 5 days) and i’m like htis too. my hands and feet are FROZEN all the time. i walked up to my boyfriend the other day and just touched his arm and he looked at me in shock that i could survive being that cold.
    Currently i’m sitting in my chair with my feet sitting on my space heater and they aren’t numb anymore but they are still really really cold.
    (the rest of my body is cold too even though its about… 73degrees farenheit (Spelling?) in my room at the moment)
    i see people all the time with t-shirts and shorts and flip flops and i can’t believe they arent freezing like me.
    fun stuff right? =)

Leave a Reply

