Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

New Release: Daughters of Grace

24 Comments

daughtersofgracecoverIt’s finally time for the long-awaited release of my collection of essays about women of the Bible — Daughters of Grace.  I got my complimentary copies today, and as of today it’s also available on my publisher’s website. (There’s a link that allows you to purchase it online from the Adventist Book Center).  Eventually it will be available on amazon.com, but it takes a while to get these books listed there.

I think I’ve said this before, but this is by far the most attractive book I’ve ever been involved with.  It’s a slim hardcover, beautifully designed, 128 pages including 26 full-colour illustrations by the very talented Robert Hunt. Each one accompanies one of my 26 articles, originally published in Women of Spirit magazine, about Bible women ranging from Eve to Euodia.  If you want to get a sense of what the essays are like, a few were published online before the book came out, so you can read about Abigail, Dorcas, or Sarah, and see if it’s going to be your kind of book. 

As part of the Shameless Self-Promotion Release Party, I have ten copies to give away to anyone who is willing to help promote the book.  Here are the requirements:

1) If you have a blog or website that is read by the type of reader who might enjoy Daughters of Grace (generally, Christian women, I would assume), and

2) You promise to review or at least talk about the book on your website after you get it, and

3) You are one of the first 10 people to post below saying, “I want one!”

…then I’ll send you a free copy.  And if you don’t want to join the SSP promo-fest but would like to read the book, again, click the publisher’s link above and follow the “Buy Now” link to get it for just $18 US.

24 thoughts on “New Release: Daughters of Grace

  1. This comes out just in time for Women’s History Month! I was just looking for something to use in worships for the month. This may well be it! I will check it out for sure.

  2. I am so happy to see your beautiful new book. I actually saw an ad in WoS the other day, but this is so exciting for you and I can’t wait!!

    I don’t have a website but I am the women’s ministries leader for our church and one of the women on the conference committee, I can’t wait to get my hands on one.

    Congratulations.

  3. Congratulations, Trudy! My website is obviously not one that I would be able to promote your book on, but I do belong to a women’s ministry book club. I’m not asking for a free book–just wanted to wish you well.

  4. i want one! but not sure if i deserve one…. if there are other people who are better promo fits, i will just have to go out and buy myself one!

    am very willing to promote your book on my website!

    your book is advertised in the back of my newest novel, too!:) don’t you love how we are linked?

  5. Congratulations. I will look forward to reading it—and giving one to my mum for Mothers Day, or something like that.

    I would say I want one to review in whatever publication or blog I would be writing for at the time but it will probably be quicker and easier for me to get it from my sources here.

    But just wanted to let you know we’re cheering for you from this side of the world.

  6. Thanks for the good wishes everyone — I am quite excited about the book.

    I didn’t mean to forget the “real world” by offering a copy only to people who can promote the book on blogs … if you would like a free copy and have another way to promote it, like being a women’s ministries leader or having a real-life book club, I would be happy to send a copy. No worries about who “deserves” one!

    So any of you who posted above, if you want the free copy, drop me a note at trudyj65@hotmail.com with your mailing address and I will get one off to you. And I still have more to give away, so keep posting and/or emailing to let me know if you want one! I’ll put a note here to let everyone know when I’ve given out all 10 copies.

  7. Trudy: congrats on your new book, can’t wait to read it. I truly want one.

  8. oops – in error typed in the wrong email address before here is the correct one

  9. I want one! (And you know I’m good for a review on my blog.)

  10. Congratulations!

  11. How about doing an interview with me about this new release?

  12. Sherry, a radio interview will definitely get you a free copy!

    Melessa, email me your mailing address so I can send you a copy.

  13. Well, I’m drooling but my blog gets, like, six readers a day–and those are mostly just stray people who’ve googled for directions for making things like veggie sushi or electrolyte replacement solution, LOL.

    However, if you find yourself at the end of the month with just one copy too many left over… 😉

  14. Oooooh Trudy! I would love one – but as I’m #14 in the comment list I understand if your precious 10 have already been given away. It looks fantastic!

  15. Actually, Trudy – having read Nathan’s comment, let me grab one from the ABC here. Postage will cost a fortune 🙂 I will happily review it for you, however.

  16. But Karen, I still have a book I haven’t sent you (from the new year’s giveaway — got your address a couple of weeks ago and haven’t mailed it yet. So I’m paying for postage anyway, and I don’t mind slipping a copy of Daughters of Grace in there for you) … I still have a few left!

  17. How about giving it away on air? Let the listener get it.

  18. Yes, that would be great!

  19. OK, so based on responses here and in my email, I have nine copies promised to people … which means there’s one left. Who wants it???

  20. Hi trudy I would love to read your book! I can also give you a review on my website and I have quite an extensive contact list of christian woman around the world! Would also tell my family in ontario about it! Im sure they would love to read it to!

  21. OK — copy #10 goes to Jennifer. Any of you who are planning to review the book on a blog or website, let me know when you post about it and I’ll link to your site. Thanks so much for helping spread the word about this book … watch for more giveaways coming soon!

  22. hey trudy you dont have to mail mine to me you can just give it to me at church save on postage lol!

  23. Yeah, I wasn’t going to mail yours!

  24. Hi Trudy–

    I finally put up a post about Daughters of Grace (http://raastrup.blogspot.com/2009/04/recommended-recent-reads.html). Everyone I’ve shared it with has really enjoyed it. Tomorrow, I will share another story as part of my SS program. Not sure yet which one…there are a few to choose from =)

    It really is a beautiful book…

Leave a Reply

