Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Scary Crazy World

7 Comments

Partly because of what I’m teaching in some of my classes, and partly because of my Lenten reading list (yes, I have to post updated reviews … maybe over the weekend) I have been reading and thinking a lot about the Holocaust lately.

I was reading a disturbing passage (one among many) in Elie Wiesel’s Night, about Nazi soldiers using Jewish babies for target practice.  Then I heard this news story about snipers in the Israeli army wearing (unofficial — not approved by the army) T-shirts showing Palestinian babies as targets, among other disturbing images.

Now, I don’t need anyone to explain to me all the ways in which the Israel/Palestine situation is different from the Holocaust, or how the Israeli government is NOT like the Nazi party. I get the complexities. But I also get that certain horrors — like young soldiers being trained to hate so they can be trained to kill — seem neverending.  Even the worst examples of human cruelty don’t teach us how to be less cruel … just move the pieces on the board around so someone else is practicing cruelty (perhaps even the children or grandchildren of victims) and we have a new victim to practice it on.  The worst of human nature goes on and on and on…

I read Patty’s post about being upset by the news just after I was processing all this.  It also reminded me of a piece I read in Geez about how we get bombarded with tragic news on top of more tragic news on top of trivia, and how sometimes the best thing to do is to turn off the radio or TV when you’ve heard something disturbing and just reflect on it, sit with that feeling, rather than racing on to the next thing.  I like that idea, because really despite all the other stuff I’ve heard in the past two weeks, the images of the Israeli army T-shirts and the Holocaust scenes I’ve been reading about just keep bouncing back and forth off each other in my mind.

You know, I’m a Seventh-day Adventist Christian, but I’m the kind of Adventist that, both because of the theology and of temperament, has always focused much more on what my faith means to me in the here and now than on looking forward to the second coming and the earth made new.  I still don’t fully know what I think about the whole schedule-of-end-time-events approach to reading Revelation, etc.

But here’s what I do know: we make progress, as a human race. We get better. But it always seems to be one step forward and one step back, so I wonder if we ever really get anywhere.  Our darkest impulses always seem to be lurking, ready to pounce.

I think if there’s ever going to be a truly just world, we can’t do it on our own.  I do believe we have to get rescued.  And I pray we will.

In the meantime, I’ll continue to keep trying to work with those who are on the side of peace, love and justice. But it does get discouraging sometimes when you turn on the news.

7 thoughts on “Scary Crazy World

  1. No one COULD explain any differences between the Nazi regime and Zionism, because the two are identical.

    Now, I’d better explain myself, before I’m vilified yet again… Zionism has nothing to do with any ethnicity, it is a political movement. It is the ideology than inspired Nazism and drove it. There are certain forces that do not want peace in the Middle East, and they continually orchestrate acts of terrorism and aggression, pinning the responsibility upon radical elements of pro and anti-Israel forces. The common IDF grunt (soldier) has no concept of reality beyond what his/her superiors deem law for them.

    Christendom, by and large, is currently on a pro-Israel kick, and I won’t get into that in detail, here. Suffice to say that there is an agenda, and Muslims are the fall-guys for an elitist expansion in the Middle East. It all boils down to the reality that Satan wishes to establish his counterfeit world-government, there, as foretold in Revelation 13.

    Satan, historically, tries to counterfeit everything that God makes, and he knows that Israel will, one day, be the site for the heavenly city of the redeemed. He figures on getting there first – how insane is that notion? But, it all ties in with the last-day events that lead up to the acceptance of Satan’s “mark”, which identifies those that have accepted his rule.

    Certain radical elements in North America (which shall remain nameless) pretending to be supporters of Israel, are really the watchdogs of Zionist elitists, and they are doing a fine job of silencing any perceived criticism of their policies… including the annihilation of the Muslim people, and their purging from the “Holy Land.”

    To me, the only thing ‘holy’ about Israel, are the phenomenal number of bullet ‘holes’ in it’s architecture.

  2. Highwayman, I’m not sure about you being vilified “yet again” since I don’t think you’ve been vilified here so far, but you’re always free to express an opinion. I disagree with your extreme views on Zionism and the Israelis, as I have a lot of sympathy for the Jewish desire for a homeland, but I also don’t think that means approving of everything the Israeli government does. Mostly I’m just tired of extremist views of all kinds and the violence to which they inevitably seem to lead.

  3. No, I haven’t been vilified here. I meant elsewhere.

    It would be hard for you to disagree with my views on Zionism, because I haven’t revealed to you what they are. I’m merely making a distinction between what is commonly interpreted as Zionism and what is ethnicity. Now, whether they are extreme or not, is best left to determination after one knows just exactly what they are. I sense, though, going into those, here, would be pointless.

    Many Jews were happy living in cohabitation with their Muslim neighbors, prior to 1947. Then, along came certain factions that were not… hence the strife that we have now. As you stated in your post, there was a certain amount of training involved in getting people to remember there were cultural differences.

    People ARE weary of any viewpoint not associated with established ecumenical doctrine regarding Israel, and that works to the elitist’s advantage. I once had four blogs running concurrently, and now I have none. Interest just dried up, in a politically-correct society. Much like religion, most have settled in their minds what they will believe, and that’s that. Basically, today… anything goes. In the late sixties, early seventies, we called it “I’m okay – you’re okay.”

    By faith, of course, we believe that the day is coming when people will, again, become interested in truth… as the prophet stated in her works. If it were up to these five senses to verify such an eventuality, I’d say it was a bad bet.

    Cheers.

  4. Out of interest, Highwayman, where did you come across my blog? If you’re not from Ship of Fools, you should check it out — a very diverse group of people there who all love to discuss the issues they have strong opinions on.

  5. I think I’ve come to the conclusion that the Israeli/Palestinian conflict is forever unresolvable. It generates the most hateful sentiments on both sides. When you have two cultures who are taught to hate with every cell of their being, it seems hopeless. It saddens me to feel this way, but there you have it. I’m not at all confident we’ll EVER have peace in the Middle East.

  6. Lots of the time, I agree, RD, but then I think that in the past 20 years we have seen solutions to other presumably “unsolvable” problems — the Cold War, apartheid in South Africa, Northern Ireland. So I wouldn’t be a bit surprised if in our lifetimes there WAS a solution to the Israeli-Palestinian conflict — but I’m afraid, given our track record as a species, that we’ll just replace it with another bloody, horrible conflict.

  7. Human nature is one of the reasons why I find Christianity compelling. It helps me to understand the incredible potential to love, to do good and to hate, to be evil that all of us have.

    Another point: those abused as children often become abusers themselves. This dynamic works in a larger scale as well.

Leave a Reply

