Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Crafty

6 Comments

The other day on Facebook, someone mentioned the phrase “crafts for kids” and I got the cold chill of terror that phrase used to always strike into my heart when I was a stay-at-home mom to two preschoolers.

Then I breathed a sigh and remembered that we’re past all that now and I no longer have to worry about nurturing the tender flowers of craftiness in the gardens of my children’s brains, or whatever.  Because frankly, when I was a stay-at-home mom with young, impressionable kids, nothing struck terror into my heart more than parenting articles about cool crafts to do with your kids.

It’s not that I’m not creative. I’m creative, right? I write books. I write blogs.  But except for a brief foray into counted cross-stitch in the early 90s, my creativity has  never been the crafty kind.  Combine complete lack of visual sense with very poor fine-motor skills and you get someone who dies a little inside whenever anyone says, “Let’s do a craft!”

The parenting magazines, not to mention the chit-chat from other parents, made it quite clear that by the time my kids were old enough to hold a pair of blunt scissors, I was supposed to be Doing Crafts with them. Guiding them through a clear Step-One-Step-Two-Step-Three process which at the end would produce something beautiful, or at least recognizable.  Even that woman on TV with her stuffed raccoon friend struck terror into my heart as she walked kids (and raccoon) through the steps to make a sheep out of a milk jug or whatever (I got off easy on that one.  Milk doesn’t come in jugs in Newfoundland).

Instead? What actually happened, when I decided it was time to “do a craft” with the kids? I would throw an armload of construction paper, crayons, markers, glue sticks, and the aforementioned blunt scissors on the dining table, yell: “Time to do crafts!” Then, as they dived into the pile of art supplies, I would sit down nearby and read a book.

 

It always seemed to work for them, although I will admit we were a little short in the “produce something recognizable department.”  They had fun; I got some reading time.  But it didn’t stop my soul from shrivelling up a little every time another mom would say, “Oh, I learned about the greatest craft to do with my kids, let me tell you about it,” or “Do you have any good ideas for crafts with kids?”

Now, I know my blog readers well, and I know some kind soul out there is probably going to post in the comments and say that I did the best possible thing for my kids. Rather than forcing their young minds into the mold of some preordained craft I simply left them free to roam, discover, explore and create on their own terms.  And I guess that’s true, if you want to put a really good spin on it.  But let’s not forget: that was never the plan.  The lack of organized craft time in our home was always driven by two things: my laziness and my incompetence.

The good news is, it actually worked out really well.  Both kids are not only wildly creative and artistic, they can do Actual Crafts.  A couple of weekends ago I came back from a writing/relaxing retreat with the Strident Women to find Christopher urging me to play with this absolutely beautiful, detailed role-playing board game he’d designed.

Meanwhile, Emma wanted to show me the latest in her ever-growing (I think it’s up to 95 now) collection of fashion designs. (Yes, the daughter of the woman whose stated goal is to wear jeans and a T-shirt 365 days a year, is an aspiring fashion designer).

I’ve included pictures above as a comfort to all those non-crafty parents out there … just so you know that even if you can’t keep up with the parenting magazines and you can’t make a milk carton look like an alligator, you may still have a shot at producing talented offspring. Read a book and stay out of their way, I’d suggest.

6 thoughts on “Crafty

  1. You have no idea how wonderful it was to read that another mom does exactly what I do. I usually put a bunch of stuff (whatever I can find) and let them go. And they too do not create recognizable things, but they have fun.
    Thanks!

  2. My table is usually too cluttered to throw a bunch of crafts down. But, the kids know where to find a supply of paper (from my printer!!), tape, scissors, and writing/colouring utensils, so I still constantly find creations everywhere. Sometimes I think that children’s creativity, up to a certain age at least, is unassailable.

  3. Did Christopher really make that game on the table? It looks professional, like something you’d buy. And Emma’s designs are totally clothes my Girly Girl would wear. Every day. (read: every SINGLE day, never putting them in the wash, until the day I sneak into her room in the middle of the night and whisk them away to live happily on a farm)

    Good for you, Mom!

  4. Chris did design and draw the game — he did on the computer using Paint, which is why it looks more professional than hand-drawn. He is a whiz at drawing both by hand AND on computer, which seems hardly fair. And it sounds like Emma and Girly Girl share similar tastes — I’m sure Emma would love to be able to wear the Emma Cole Collection for real!

  5. Yay!! Really great to read this.

  6. That game looks spectacular. And Emma’s designs are the awesome. They are talented kids. You may not have always sat there and held their hands while they did their crafts but you always seem to encourage their creativity in many ways, not the least is your own example of finding what you’re good at and doing it. That’s what kids need most of all, not a paint by number kit or a house made out of popsicle sticks.

Leave a Reply

