Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Still Alive, Still Writing!

2 Comments

A whole week has gone by since I updated this blog and I think you know what this means … a very busy week!! The first couple of weeks back to school after the holidays are always insanely busy for me at work, as well as getting back into a regular routine at home. Things have been crazy, but not in a bad way.  I’m hoping to get back to more regular blogging soon.  But I figured I should post to let you know I’m still alive.

In the meantime, though work and home have been busy, the writing front has not been totally neglected. I have a few upcoming events promoting By the Rivers of Brooklyn you might want to know about, so hop on over to the book’s website to see what’s happening! (Yes, all three of those links lead to the same place. I want you to have no excuse for missing it!)

Also, I got some good news from Review and Herald recently.  The next novella in the That First Christmas series, a follow-up to this year’s Yosef’s Story, has been accepted and has the green light for Christmas 2010.  I’m not sure what the title will be yet, but it’s my re-telling of the journey of the Magi, and will be out this fall in time for Christmas.

Meanwhile, I have a few things out there in the universe.  Some of you have been following the saga of my “road trip novel” What You Want, which I started drafting on my trip to Australia two years ago (the novel has nothing to do with Australia; I just had a lot of time to write on the plane there and back).  That manuscript is now off being scrutinized on a publisher’s desk … if there’s good news, I’ll keep you posted. If there’s not you’ll never hear of it again. 

I also submitted a short story to the provincial Arts and Letters competition, a contest I used to once enter faithfully (and actually won, one year long ago) and then gave up on after several unsuccessful attempts.  A couple of years ago I had the honour of being one of the judges for the contest, and that interesting experience made me think I might enter again someday (of course, in a year when I wasn’t judging it!!) I didn’t really have time to work on this year’s entry and I finished it very late on Thursday night. At 1:00 a.m. it looked like the most brilliant thing I’d ever written.  I then went to bed and got some sleep, and at 7:00 a.m. on Friday I looked at the story again and realized it had turned to utter drivel overnight.  Unfortunately Friday was the deadline so I sent it off anyway. Nothing ventured, nothing gained, right?

2 thoughts on “Still Alive, Still Writing!

  1. I missed your posts. I wish I was in the St. John’s area, I would definitely make an attempt to be at one of your upcoming events.

    Good for you on submitting to the Arts and Letters Competition. Every year I think I’ll give it a try , but I never follow through.

  2. don’t you hate how a story seems to degenerate by itself overnight? 🙂 my work does the same thing!

    i like how you just sent it off. that’s great. i’m a firm believer in submit, submit, submit. it makes me feel better to read your blog and see you doing the same thing.

    see? i’m validated! 😉

Leave a Reply

