Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

The Joys of Snow Days

1 Comment

This hasn’t been a particularly snowy winter here in St. John’s, and the kids (and, OK, some teachers!!) have been complaining that we haven’t had enough snow days.  Mother Nature certainly overcompensated this weekend, though, with a blizzard that not only closed almost everything on Friday, but continued into Saturday morning and kept us home from church.

It was wonderful. I loved every minute of lazing around at home by the fire, reading, getting a (very) little bit of work done Friday, playing games, watching movies.  I don’t want to make it sound too idyllic because anytime you get all four of us cooped up in the house for two days there are bound to be some stresses and strains, like over who gets to use the Wii next or (once we got outside), “Do we really have to help shovel rather than just throwing handfuls of snow at the dog?” But I still enjoyed every minute. January was a very busy month, February hasn’t been much better so far, and a two-day stop was just what I needed.

One of the things I didn’t get to do on Sabbath was preach the sermon at church.  I had one all ready to go, so it wouldn’t have been a hardship, but it was extra-relaxing not to have to do it once we learned that church was cancelled. And now I have one ready for the next time I’m asked to preach. 

All of this reminded me that some time back I added a new page to this website — you can see the tab marked “SPEAKING” at the top of the page and it takes you here, where I talk about workshops I can teach and that sort of thing, but also provide links to audiofiles many of the sermons I’ve preached.  I know sermons are not everyone’s cup of tea, and if sermons are your cup of tea you probably have better preachers you can listen to, but hey, if you’re snowed in some weekend and can’t go to church and you want to hear me preach, now you know where to find me.

Meanwhile, we’re all shovelled out and life returns more or less to normal today. It was a great two-day snow break. A few more pics at Flickr.

One thought on “The Joys of Snow Days

  1. Our winter has been cold, but not much snow. Still, with the furnace going constantly in The Yellow House, D’Arcy and I are beginning to worry about what this place is going to cost!!

Leave a Reply

