Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Most Terrifying Animal

1 Comment

If someone were to ask what’s the scariest animal on earth, would you think of a shark?

Maybe an anaconda?

How about a tarantula?

But you know what? If anyone asks me what animal I find most terrifying, personally, I’d have to go with this guy every time.

Because, let’s face it, I live a pretty tame life. If I’m ever to die as a direct result of something an animal does, it’s going to be because a moose runs out onto the road in front of my car.

Now that summer is upon us and the season of driving back and forth to the cabin has begun, I think about them all the time. I’ve never been one to go for a drive just for the fun of it, but there was a time when I used to take a certain pleasure in a drive on the highway.  I even used to like highway driving at night, something I would never do now. In the last 5-10 years any kind of highway driving has become an exercise in hyper-vigilance, scanning the bushes at the roadside for the unwary moose who might just choose this moment to wander onto the road, ending his life and mine.

If I were in government I’d say hang the expense and string 500 miles of dark-green tough plastic fencing along the woods at the road’s edge, all the way from St. John’s to Port aux Basques, both sides of the road. It might not look great but I’m sure it would provide summer employment for students and give drivers (and maybe moose, if only they knew) a little peace of mind.

One thought on “Most Terrifying Animal

  1. I always thought there was something menacing about Bullwinkle.

Leave a Reply

