Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

A Few New Things

2 Comments

Despite being caught up in the whirl of back-to-school and trying to whip a manuscript into shape for submission, I’ve had time to make a few updates around the website here.

As you can see, I have a new header image. I loved the old one, but it looked increasingly outdated, with a hairstyle and glasses I haven’t worn for several years, plus … I just wanted something fresh. My original plan (which was actually in place for a few days; if you stop by here regularly you may have seen it) was to reproduce the old header, but with a new photo (right after getting my hair done). Sadly, the picture I liked best (seen above) didn’t have the right proportions to fit the header as neatly as the old one used to. So I went with another idea …

Long ago when I first started this blog, I wanted an image of a brick wall with the word “Hypergraffiti” sprayed on it, because this is the virtual wall where I spray-paint my random thoughts. I didn’t have the technological know-how to produce that image three years ago … but  now I have something I didn’t have then. I have children. I mean, I had children then, but they were younger.  Now they’ve reached the point of being more tech-savvy than I am. They’re also better artists, with a far stronger visual sense of what looks good. I got input from both of them, and from Jason, but it was actually Chris who created the image you see on the header, and I’m really happy with it. I hope you like it and it still says “Welcome! Read my random stuff here!” to anyone who might stumble across the site.

Also, I finally found time to update the book reviews over at Compulsive Overreader. I read some truly great books on vacation this summer (and have some more great ones lined up on my e-reader for fall reading) so please drop on over there, read the reviews, leave some comments, etc etc.

That’s as much update as I’ve got for you today … I’ll be back later in the week to talk about some writing-related plans and goals.

2 thoughts on “A Few New Things

  1. I am a frequent visitor but have never commented before. I’ve been watching your evolving header – Didn’t you have an interim photo on last week ? I was going to post a comment on how you were looking very atwoodish. Your present picture has lost (in my opinion) that reference. I enjoy your blog and your stuff that I have been able to track down.

  2. Hmm. Yes, there was an interim header up for a few days but I didn’t like how I looked in it. If the previous one looked Atwoodish, and this one has lost that reference, I’m not at all sure that’s a bad thing. Thanks for noticing anyway!!

Leave a Reply

