Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Disappointed? (A Friday Night Video)

Leave a comment

Every good Adventist among my blog-friends knows that today, Oct. 22, is the 166th anniversary of the Great Disappointment — when Jesus failed to arrive on the schedule set for Him by a group of earnest but mistaken Bible students. Reflecting on the Great Disappointment, I discovered this clip from the documentary “The Adventists,” which portrays that moment so vividly I found it haunting.

I’ve blogged before about my ambiguous feelings about this anniversary, and since I’m guest-speaking at my church tomorrow, I’ll also be preaching about Disappointment and the Second Coming. (And for the geekiest among my friends and readers, once the video of that sermon is available I’ll share it with you because there will be a geeky surprise in it! Maybe that’ll be a future Friday Night Video).  In the meantime, I think I just want to put this video clip out there and let it speak for itself.

Leave a Reply

