Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Postcard Caption Contest – Week One

13 Comments

Here’s my plan: Once a week or so until That Forgetful Shore is released in the fall, I’m going to post a picture of one of the original early-1900s postcards that inspired the novel. YOU, my devoted readers, have to suggest possible captions for the picture of the weeks. From all the entries I get over the course of the summer, I’m going to draw three winners and each of them will get a signed copy of the book as soon as it’s available! Also,k of course, you get to have some fun with these lovely vintage postcard images, some of which are … intriguing, to say the least! (After each one has been posted and left up for a week for comments, I’ll post what the actual caption to the postcard is. There’s at least one in the collection where the original caption is weirder than anything I think you’ll be able to come up with, but I’ll save that for awhile).

So, this is the first. Come up with a caption for it, and post your suggestion below!

13 thoughts on “Postcard Caption Contest – Week One

  1. Of course that hat doesn’t make you look fat!

  2. Don’t look at me in that tone of voice!

  3. “So, why does your Facebook page say “It’s complicated”?”

  4. lori, ha ha ha! 😀

  5. Honey, do as I say or when we get home your gonna get a fresh one”. Woman to man.

  6. “Oh and I suppose YOUR mother was made from peaches and cream ???!!!”

  7. First of all the lady in this photo looks like a friend of mine….

    ” Are you thinking what I’m thinking?

  8. Now what are you reading, dear?

  9. I swear I’m only reading it for the articles!

  10. Egbert was planning to fall in love, so he deliberately made the bench only strong enough for one.

  11. “What’s in that newspaper that you don’t want me to see?”

Leave a Reply

