Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

City of Dreams

2 Comments

It’s a bit dangerous when someone attaches so many expectations to a place or an experience that they can’t help but be disappointed. I thought it might be that way for Emma and Paris. I don’t think I’ve ever seen a human being so excited about going anywhere. She had so many things planned that she wanted to do and see, and had even plotted out the pictures of herself she wanted taken at the Eiffel Tower. She was going to buy an outfit in a Paris store, and she was elated that we were going to stay in an apartment rather than a hotel because it would be more like “living” in Paris.
I thought the reality was bound to be a disappointment.
I couldn’t have been more wrong.
From the moment we arrived in Paris Emma was constantly excited, pausing every few minutes to say, “I can’t believe we’re really here! In Paris!! It’s so perfect!!!”
It’s awful when you think someone is setting themselves up for disappointment – but it’s wonderful when you can help make someone’s dream come true.

2 thoughts on “City of Dreams

  1. I seriously don’t think it’s possible to be disappointed by Paris. Well, I take that back, unless you’re my sister-in-law who hated Italy with a vengeance too. Sigh… I’m thrilled to hear that Emma is living her dream come true! I think my boys will LOVE Paris too and I can’t wait to be able to take them someday. Enjoy your trip!

  2. I remember being in Paris at 18 with my friends Maria and Suzanne. Suzanne was as excited as Emma, and being with her was a great reminder of what a romantic city Paris is.

Leave a Reply

