Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Another Book? Yes!

7 Comments

In the weird two-track world that is my writing life, it’s a little odd timing (but always good news) that I have another new book out just as That Forgetful Shore is getting launched and I’m busy promoting it. James: The Brother of Jesus is the latest of my novels about Bible characters, and one of my favourites. However, it’s not yet up on Amazon or other online sites, so in a few weeks when it is, I’ll be talking more about it and trying to entice you to buy it.

It’s a funny place to be in, because I know that with two new books out, lots of other writers would love to be where I am, and it’s certainly not a bad place to be! Yet it’s been a long time — several years at least — since I’ve felt as confused and directionless about where my writing career is going, as I do today. There are a lot of reasons for this, and I may blog about some of them later, but let’s just say for now that I need a little time and head-space away from either writing or promoting books, to think about what I want to do, and write, next.

This year instead of doing NaNoWriMo I’m going to be dedicating some extra time to writing in a different way — not producing another 50,000 unpublished words (heaven knows that’s the last thing I need) but doing some marketing and promotion, but also some planning around where I want to go next, and what I want to do with some of the unpublished work I do have around here. Also, what my next book is going to be — because for the first time in a long time, I’m not sure of the answer to that question. I’m sure you’ll see the results of some of that thinking showing up here on the blog (as well as some fun book giveaways, so stay tuned). But first, I’m off to one of my favourite places with some of my favourite people (5/6 of the Strident Women) to relax for a much-needed weekend break and … well, not write. But think and talk about writing, and try to figure out what my next step is.

7 thoughts on “Another Book? Yes!

  1. Have a rejuvenating weekend!

  2. How exciting! Can’t wait to read both of them. Are they available in digital format?

  3. Congratulations!

    I just finished reading (=translating) your Esther book to my 9-year old. We enjoyed it very much and it opened some good discussions. It really made the story come alive to us all.

    I also appreciated the quality of research you had done.

  4. “lots of other writers would love to be where I am” And how!

    So thrilled for you and happy to have been introduced by Christine/mombie. Look forward to getting to know you in this space!

  5. i do understand that need to sit down and figure out your direction. i’ve been doing that lately in other parts of my life. i’m a firm believer in the virtue of a good “sit.” i’m interested to see what you decide to focus on!

  6. I just finished reading “James, The Brother of Jesus” by Robert Eisenman. Did you take his work into consideration when doing your book? If so, how does it compare. Thanks David

    • Hi David,

      I didn’t read Eisenman’s book, though I might at some time in the future. I actually didn’t do much reading about James directly, since I was mainly interested in what kind of story I could imaginatively reconstruct about him from the few mentions in the New Testament, and beyond that much of what any writer writes about James is largely conjecture. The main focus of my research was on first-century Judaism and the world of that time, trying to make it authentic. I will say, though, that my picture of Jesus, His family and His world was very much influenced by some reading I did a couple of years ago on some of the “historical Jesus” debates, and my thinking owes a lot (as it often does) to the work of N.T. Wright.

Leave a Reply

