Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

As Promised, a Blog Full of Words

Leave a comment

It’s another busy week but I did promise that I’d get a post full of words in before I posted another Writing Wednesday video. November is one of my busiest months of the year so I’m expecting some hectic times ahead, but I did want to take the time to say that I was very honoured a little while ago by the news that That Forgetful Shore was nominated for the Writers’ Alliance of Newfoundland and Labrador Heritage and History award. This is an award for a book that “exemplifies excellence in the interpretation of the history and heritage of Newfoundland and Labrador.” The other nominees in the adult fiction category for this year are Kevin Major, for his novel New Under the Sun, and Agnes Walsh for a collection of plays titled Answer Me Home. The winner will be announced on November 25.

Kevin Major and Agnes Walsh are both absolute icons of Newfoundland literature so it truly is an honour to be nominated alongside them. Awards are always very subjective and I think it’s good for writers not to attach too much emotional weight to whether or not you win them, but the one thing that is nice about an award nomination is that it does give a little bit of attention to a book after it’s been out awhile, which might result in a few more readers hearing about it and maybe even reading it. In that spirit, I’ll be doing two book signings in November: one at the NL Craft Council Christmas Craft Fair (Nov. 14) and another craft show called “All About Her” at the Holiday Inn in St. John’s on November 18. I’ve also been getting to do a few more book club visits, and as I may have said before, visiting book clubs is my single favourite thing to do as a writer, because it feels like the characters in my story come alive again when I get to hear readers discussing and reacting to them. As I plug away at the earliest stages of this new book it’s encouraging to know people are reading and enjoying my previous books … it gives me a reason to go on!

Leave a Reply

