Hypergraffiti

Where I spray-paint my thoughts…

Writing Wednesday 45: Adventures in Research

Leave a comment

This video is all about the type of books I like to call “Adventures in Research” novels (here’s a link to some of my reviews of these types of novels) — books that focus on the discovery of an ancient, rare and explosive document, that trace the history of the document, and that are often built around an attempt by someone unscrupulous to steal or destroy the document. Sometimes when I’m in the midst of researching I fantasize that I’ll come across something like that, and, well … the video above shows where my rambling mind gets to.

Here are Amazon links to all the books I mentioned in the video:

Wilton Barnhardt’s wonderful novel GOSPEL, the novel that should have gotten all the hype that went to The Da Vinci Code

People of the Book by Geraldine Brooks lacks the “bad guys trying to steal the valuable manuscript” element but has plenty of thrills as it takes you through the life story of an ancient Jewish text

Lord Byron’s Novel: The Evening Land by John Crowley – Not very well known but I really enjoyed it.

The Bookman’s Tale by Charlie Lovet – A recent release I enjoyed, about a rare book that may prove or disprove the authorship of Shakespeare’s plays. This one has lots of chases and intrigue

The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova – A lot of people loved this but it wasn’t one of my favourites, and not just because I’m not that into the vampire/Dracula thing — it just didn’t grab me. But it might grab you

The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown – What can I say? I’m not a fan, but I had to include it because it’s one of the best-known examples of this genre.

Leave a Reply

